Regulatory Reporting

In order to make OTC trading of financial derivatives more transparent and ease the process of uncovering systemic risks, the EU legislature adopted the “European Market Infrastructure Regulation” (EMIR) in July 2012.

 

The central requirement of the EMIR requires that market participants must report every derivative contract they enter into a trade repository (which is an entity that is authorized to collect records of OTC derivative trades). The ESMA (European Securities and Markets Authority) was given the task to put the legislation into action. The EMIR requires the reporting of all derivatives, whether OTC or exchange traded, to a trade repository. Entities affected by this legislation are central counterparties, participants of the financial sector and any trading participants who are not attributed to the financial sector. Participants can delegate this reporting obligation to counterparties or other third parties. Both OTC derivative transactions that include clearing obligations and non-clearing obligations are to be reported.

The reporting must include information about counterparties, type of the derivatives, trade details, clearing and evaluation of the underlying collateral. Furthermore, the European reporting obligation includes relevant changes during the lifecycle of a trade. The report must be issued latest one work-day after the trade (t+1).

 

The reporting obligation came into effect on 12.02.2014 for OTC as well as for listed derivatives. There is a backloading process with a period of 90 days for existing business or 3 years for expired business.

There are six global registered providers of the ESMA.

  • DTCC GTR – is the world’s largest clearing organization, and according to the Dodd Frank Act, it has been productive for the reporting obligation of Interest and Credit derivatives in the US since 12.10.2012.
  • REGIS-TR – is a joint-venture of the Spanish iberclear and Clearstreams.
  • UnaVista – is a subsidiary of the London Stock Exchange and the third largest trade repository in Europe. It also offers other services for e.g. MiFiD, AIFMD etc.

For these vendors we have comprehensive documentation and test environments in which the transactions of different types of products and messages can be uploaded.

In the Swiss market the Financial Market Infrastructure Act (FinfraG) also developed a transaction repository for derivative transactions, which came into force at the beginning of 2016. In this regard, the SIX (Swiss Exchange) acts as a central transaction repository in cooperation with swiss banks. We already have a solution: the tecconTR that is adapted to FinfraG, which can be used as an automated solution for larger users, as well as a service-solution for users with a low volume of transactions that require registration.

 

We offer the following services for connection of transaction registers:

  • Know-How / Consulting package for transactions repository:
  • We keep up-to-date on the legal finalization and technical developments addressed by the ESMA.
  • We stay in close contact with DTCC and REGIS-TR and have access to their documentation and test systems.
  • We have successfully connected several clients to the trade repository DTCC and REGIS-TR.

 

We provide consulting support in the following aspect:

  • Reporting scope in accordance with the current guidelines and reporting process/lifecycle
  • Data mapping with respect to DTCC GTR or REGIS-TR
  • Management of important identification keys, such as LEI and UTI
  • Technical connection of the trade repository

Regulatory Reporting

Um den außerbörslichen Handel in Finanzderivaten transparenter zu machen und systemische Risiken leichter aufzudecken, erließ die EU im Juli 2012 die Richtlinie „European Market Infrastructure Regulation“ (EMIR).

Eine zentrale Anforderung verpflichtet die Marktteilnehmer zur Meldung aller OTC-Derivategeschäfte an ein Transaktionsregister bzw. an die zuständige Aufsicht. Die ESMA wurde von der EU mit der Umsetzung der Richtlinie beauftragt. Bei einem Transaktionsregister handelt es sich um eine behördlich zugelassene und beaufsichtigte zentrale Datensammelstelle, in die alle transaktionsrelevanten Daten aus Derivatgeschäften gemeldet werden müssen. Die Meldepflicht besteht für Marktteilnehmer, die Derivate handeln oder clearen. Betroffen sind sowohl Central Counterparties als auch Teilnehmer aus dem Finanzsektor und handelnde Teilnehmer, die nicht der Finanzbranche zuzurechnen sind. Teilnehmer können ihre Meldepflicht auch an den Kontrahenten oder Dritte delegieren. Gemeldet werden müssen alle clearingpflichtigen und nicht clearingpflichtigen Transaktionen in OTCDerivaten.

Das Reporting umfasst Informationen zu Kontrahent, Produktart, Trade Details, Clearing, sowie seit kurzem auch zur Bewertung und dem unterlegten Collateral. Zudem umfasst die europäische Meldepflicht auch relevante Änderungen während des Lebenszyklus eines Geschäfts. Die Meldung muss spätestens einen Arbeitstag nach Geschäftsabschluss (t+1) gemeldet werden.

Beginn der Meldepflicht war der 12.02.2014 sowohl für OTC Derivate als auch für börsengehandelte Derivate. Für Altgeschäfte gibt es einen Backloadingprozess mit Fristen von 90 Tagen beziehungsweise 3 Jahren für bereits ausgelaufene Geschäfte.

In Europa sind sechs globale Anbieter von der ESMA registriert.

  • DTCC GTR – Ist die weltweit größte Clearingorganisation und in den USA bereits seit dem 12.10.2012 produktiv für die Meldepflicht von Zins- u. Kreditderivaten gemäß Dodd Frank Act.
  • REGIS-TR – Ist ein Joint Venture des spanischen Clearers iberclear und Clearstreams.
  • UnaVista – ist eine Tochtergesellschaft der London Stock Exchange und das drittgrößte Transaktionsregister in Europa. UnaVista bietet auch weitere Services für z.B. MiFiD, AIFMD, etc. an.
    Für diese Anbieter verfügt Be TSE über eine umfassende Dokumentation sowie Testumgebungen, in die Transaktionen in den unterschiedlichen Produktarten und Messagetypen hochgeladen werden können.

 

Auf dem Schweizer Markt sieht das Finanzmarkt-Infrastrukturgesetz (FinfraG) die Schaffung eines
Transaktionsregisters für Derivate-Transaktionen vor. Es wird Anfang 2016 in Kraft treten. In diesem Zusammenhang realisiert SIX gemeinsam mit den Schweizer Banken ein zentrales Transaktionsregister. BE TSE verfügt in diesem Zusammenhang bereits über eine Lösung, die für FinfraG adaptiert ist und sowohl automatisierte Lösung für große Anwender, als auch als Software as a Service-Lösung für Anwender mit niedrigem meldepflichtigen Transaktionsvolumen, einsetzbar ist.

Wir bieten folgende Dienste zur Anbindung von Transaktionsregistern an:

  • Know How / Beratungspaket für das Transaktions-Repository:
  • Wir sind bezüglich der gesetzlichen Finalisierung und technischen Ausprägung durch die ESMA auf dem neuesten Stand
  • Wir stehen in engem Kontakt mit DTCC und REGIS-TR und haben Zugriff auf ihre Dokumentation und Testsysteme.
  • Wir haben erfolgreich mehrere Kunden mit dem Transaktionsregister DTCC und REGIS-TR verbunden. 

Wir bieten Beratungsunterstützung in folgenden Aspekten:

  • Reporting-Umfang gemäß den aktuellen Richtlinien und Reporting-Prozess /  Lifecycle
  • Datenmapping in Bezug auf DTCC GTR oder REGIS-TR
  • Management der wichtigen Identifikationskeys, wie LEI und UTI
  • Technische Anbindung der Transaktionsregister